European Commission Erasmus Mundus

Kyrgyz State Technical University

Kyrgyz State Technical University

The Kyrgyz State Technical University (KSTU) named after I. Razzakov (KSTU) was founded 1954 as Frunze Polytechnic Institution. Today KSTU ( is a leading state technical higher education institution in the Kyrgyz Republic. There are 1000 teachers participating in the teaching process, including more 60 with the degree of Full Doctor of Sciences and 250 with the degree of Candidate of Sciences (PhD).

At the present time, there are approximately 19.000 students full-time studying and 5000 students part-time studying at the KSTU in 20 engineering/technical and economic fields, including more than 60 majors. There are following faculties, subdivisions, departments and branches at the KSTU:

  • Faculty of Information Technology
  • Power Energy Faculty
  • Faculty of Transport and Machine Construction
  • Technological Faculty
  • Kyrgyz-Germany Technical Facultu
  • Faculty MPEI-KSTU joint with Moscow Power energy Institute
  • Institute of Mining Industry and Mining Technologies
  • Institute of Management and Business
  • Tokmok Technical Institute
  • Kara-Balta General Technical Faculty
  • Karakul engineering branch
  • Kyzyl Kiya Institute of nature using and geotechnologies
  • Department of Telecommunication
  • Institute of distance learning and raising the level of one’s skill
  • Special  and  Vocational Education College
  • Lyceum
  • Scientific Research Institute for Physical/Technical Problems
  • Scientific Research Institute for Chemical/Technical Problems
  • Scientific Research Institute for Energy and Communications
  • Educational Scientific Technological Center for Textile and Light Industry
  • Publishing Center "Technique"

Teaching is conducted in accordance with the state standards and laws on education in the Kyrgyz Republic with the following terms of completion:

  • 4 years - receive Bachelor's degree
  • 5 years - receive diploma of an Engineer
  • 2 years - receive Master's degree
  • 6 years - receive diploma of an Engineer based on the part-time learning schedule

The KSTU has "Doktorantura" and "Aspirantura" (Post Graduated) programs and has 4 specialized councils for evaluating "Doktor's" and "PhD degree" dissertations. Highly qualified training of specialists is possible because of the modern laboratory equipment and computer laboratories connected to Internet. Library/Information Center has approximately 500,000 pieces of educational literature.
International activity
Beginning to 1980 have finished our university and have received diplomas in higher education more than 700 foreign students from Bolivia, Germany, China, India, Turkey, Syria, Jordan, Israel, Pakistan, Laos, Senegal, Congo, Tanzania, Sudan, etc. Besides, our students are taking an active part in such international academic programs. Annually 8-10 students leave KSTU for universities of the USA, Europe and Asia in order to continue their education and obtain master’s degree or PhD.

KSTU maintains international relations with many foreign countries. At present KSTU has completed more than 40 treaties and agreements with foreign higher education institutions (HEI) and has been effectively cooperating with such of them as:

  • The Royal Institute of Technologies (Stockholm, Sweden)
  • The Nice - Sofia – Antipolis University (Nice, France)
  • The Moscow Technical University of Communication and Information Science (Russia)
  • The Technical University named after N. Bauman (Russia)
  • The Kazakn National Technical University
  • The Berlin technical University (Germany)
  • Moscow Power Energy Institute
  • Tomsk State Technical University
  • Moscow Institute of radio engineering, electronics and automation
  • Moscow road-transport institute
  • Moscow State university of printing