European Commission Erasmus Mundus

Kyrgyz-Russian Slavic University

The Kyrgyz-Russian Slavic University is one of the prestigious institutes of higher education in Kyrgyzstan. It provides education in 45 specialties and in three areas. The University was opened in 1993 on the basis of the Treaty “On friendship, cooperation and mutual assistance” between the Kyrgyz Republic and the Russian Federation. The KRSU is the state institution for higher vocational education of joint jurisdiction, namely, the Russian Federation and the Kyrgyz Republic, and it is functioning according to the syllabuses based on educational standards of Russia and Kyrgyzstan.

The university provides education both on the budget and on the contract bases. The teaching is performed in Russian language. The University graduates get diplomas of two states- the Russian Federation and the Kyrgyz Republic, and foreign citizens- the Diplomas of international standard.

System of education

The multi-level system is functioning at the university:

  • Bachelor’s program (4 years)
  • PhD program (3 years) institution of doctoral candidacy
  • Specialist (5 years)
  • Clinical studies (2 years)
  • Master’s program (2 years)
  • Internship (1 years)
  • Postgraduate study (3 years)

Specifics of training at the university

  • Advanced study of Kyrgyz, English, German and French languages
  • Extended study of information science and modern computer technologies
  • Taking a course of aesthetic education

Eight departments are functioning at the university

1) Department of natural and engineering sciences

  • Physics (Bachelor, Master)
  • Meteorology
  • Physical processes in mining engineering 
  • Software for computer facilities and automation systems
  • Communication nets and switching systems.
  • Devices and methods for quality control and diagnostics
  • Nonconventional and renewable power sources 
  • Applied mathematics and information science
  • Machine dynamics and  strength 
  • Microelectronics and semiconductor devices
  • Traffic management and safety 
  • Arrangement of transportation and traffic control
  • Department of economics

2) Economic theory

  • Organization management
  • Finance and credit
  • Mathematical methods in economy
  • Economics and management at electrical energy enterprises
  • Accountancy, analysis and auditing

3) Department of law

  • Jurisprudence
  • Court (legal) expertise

4) Department of humanities

  • Philology
  • Translation/interpretation and translation science
  • Theory and practice of intercultural communications
  • Psychology
  • Science of culture
  • History
  • Theory and methods of foreign languages teaching
  • Philosophy
  • Advertising

5) Department of international relations

  • World economics
  • International relations
  • Economics (Bachelor, Master)
  • Political science (Bachelor, Master)
  • Science of religion 
  • Journalism

6) Department of medicine

  • Medical treatment
  • Pediatrics
  • Dentistry

The graduates of the department have the right to continue their post-graduate education at the clinical studies or at the internship. 

7) Department of architecture, design and construction

  • Architecture
  • Design of architectural environment
  • Artistic design of costume
  • Water supply and water drainage
  • Multipurpose use and protection of water resources
  • Industrial and civil construction
  • Hydraulic engineering construction
  • Heat - gas supply and ventilation
  • Expert examination and  property administration
  • Protection in emergency situations

8) Department of distant education

  • Jurisprudence 
  • Accountancy and auditing 
  • Finance and credit
  • Software for computer facilities and automation systems
  • Traffic management and safety 
  • Arrangement of transportation and traffic control
  • Psychology (ull-time-distant)
  • Oganization management
  • Journalism
  • Economics and management at electrical energy enterprises
  • Industrial and civil construction
  • Communication nets and switching systems

Internship, Institution of doctoral candidacy (PhD program), Clinical studies

In 1984, the post-graduate course and institution of doctoral candidacy were opened at the university. At present the training of doctoral candidates is conducted in eight specialties and seven areas, the post-graduate training is performed in 70 specialties and 14 areas: physical, mathematical, biological, technical, historical, economical, philosophic, juridical, medical, architectural, psychological, political science, science of culture and earth sciences.

At the post-graduate courses of KRSU study three hundred twenty seven best graduates of the university and other higher education institutions of the Republic, more than one hundred applicants for degrees and twenty-one doctoral candidates.
Nine dissertation boards, established by the State Commission for Academic Degrees and Titles of Russia and National  Commission for Academic Degrees and Titles of the Kyrgyz Republic on defense of Candidate’s and Doctoral dissertations.

Scientific researches

The scientific researches are conducted since 1993 in actual areas of human society development and cover the following fields of science and engineering:

  • Information technologies and modeling /simulation
  • Plasma processes and technologies
  • Physics of high-speed processes
  • Non-conventional energy sources
  • Mechanics
  • High-temperature ceramics and nanotechnologies
  • Architecture
  • Monitoring and protection of environment
  • Linguistics
  • Medicine and psychology
  • Jurisprudence
  • Economy and management (Business studies)
  • International relations and political science
  • History of Russia and Kyrgyzstan
  • Hydraulic engineering construction

The scientific researches are carried out at 83 chairs and in 4 scientific-research institutions, 6 scientific-research centers and 10 laboratories.

International relations

The Kyrgyz-Russian Slavic University successfully continues activities within the frameworks of concluded agreements on cooperation with the following universities and research institutes of Europe, Asia and America:

  • Moscow State University named after M.V. Lomonosov
  • Moscow State Technical University named after N.E. Bauman
  • Diplomatic Academy under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia
  • Moscow State Institute of Foreign Relations
  • Russian Academy of Economics named after Plekhanov
  • Russian State Humanities University
  • Moscow International University
  • Scientific-Research Institutes of Russian Academy of Sciences
  • National Academy of Sciences of the Kyrgyz Republic
  • Westminster University (England)
  • Athens National Technical University (Greece)
  • Eindhoven Technical University (the Netherlands)
  • Lanzhou University (PRC)
  • Kwangju Ecological College (Republic of Korea)
  • Plymouth University (England)
  • Фыратским University (Turkey)
  • Newcastle University (Great Britain)
  • Göteborg University (Sweden)
  • Айхштатским University (Germany)

The university is the member of:

  • International Higher Education Academy of Sciences
  • International Informatization Academy
  • The Association of CIS International Relations Schools


Kyrgyz-Russian Slavic University
720000, Kyrgyzstan, Bishkek,
44, Kievskaya St

E-mail: krsu(at)